If You Keep Losing Sleep

Silverchair – If  You Keep Losing Sleep

Do you enjoy sleeping ? Do you look forward to going to bed each night ?
 It’s probably better put that you like the benefits of a good nights sleep. It’s not exactly a time that your brain shuts down. Your brain stays busy, overseeing a wide range of maintenance, so your body can continue to run. I look forward to when my children are in bed. That is the time I can relax. I’m not a very good sleeper. Medication has had a bit of an affect on that. But, also bad habits. If you get into the habit of a 3-4 am rise every morning, it can be hard to get rid of.I have used it as a time to have some time to myself. Time when I can get some work done.I often fall asleep in front of the T.V at night,but then go to bed and wake in 2 or 3 hours. As I said, a lot of this is about bad habits. I think to myself, I’ll just read a book for a while then get back to sleeping. But I sometimes end up out of bed looking at the clock counting down until it’s 4:30 – 5am. I’m then in my office, on the computer doing the likes of this.Last night we put our clocks forward an hour for “daylight saving”. Some say it takes them several days to get used to the hour they have missed.It’s not this way for myself. I’m pretty happy it’s one less hour I have had to spend in bed. My daughter may have felt daylight savings this evening. She wasn’t to happy when we put her to bed at 7pm. Perhaps she felt something was different. As I tucked my son into bed he pulled open his curtains and commented it was still light outside.

So, how much sleep do we require ?

  • Newborn to 2 months old …..12 – 18 hr
  • 3 months to 1 year old…..14 – 15 hrs
  • 1 to 3 years old…..12 – 14 hrs
  •  3 to 5 years old…..11 – 13 hrs
  • 5 to 12 years old…..10 – 11 hrs
  • 12 to 18 years old…..8.5 – 10 hrs
  • Adults (18+)…..7.5 – 9 hrs

So, maybe I need to find some better habits. Perhaps we could go to bed at the same time every night.This has worked in the past. About a month ago I was rather proud a went a week in bed ALL NIGHT !!! Although one might think a later bedtime might work better, it was probably an earlier and more consistent one that did the trick. Something like 9-9:30pm. I bit of reading before switching off the lights works well. I think it helps you relax. I always have to wake my wife up at 6:15am so we can have breakfast together and she can leave for her work day at 7:15am. If I can get better sleeping at night, that removes the falling asleep in front of the T.V at night. The best place to sleep is in bed. I have been to the Library today so I will get into some interesting reading. Hopefully this will help.Sleep should be a priority. Just as we schedule time for work and everything else, we should schedule time for sleep. It’s something I am very lazy with.It’s something I need to put at the top of my to-do list.

Leave a Reply

