Epilepsy – Just As Common As Breast Cancer

Although Cancer is is huge health issue, I sometimes get frustrated with the amount of attention it receives and the amount of funding it gets. There is quite a few days dedicated to Cancer in New Zealand. The Government also puts a lot of money its way as well. Epilepsy receives very little publicity. As I said , it is very frustrating.There is more than 60 million people around the world living with Epilepsy.This equals about 1-2% of the worlds population. Although not really talked about, Epilepsy is up there with Breast Cancer when it comes to death rates. Sudden unexpected death could affect at least 10% of people with Epilepsy. There are 40 different types of seizures. Grand Mals or Tonic Clonic Seizures involve Convulsions,yet others don’t involve obvious Conclusions such as Complex Partial Seizures and Absence Seizures.There is continued research, but many cases remain unsolved with the cause unknown. This is my predicament. I have had scans (MRI & EEG ) and monitoring over several years, and the cause of my Epilepsy remains unknown.   Many different medications have to be trialed. Sometimes seizures can only be reduced, not fully controlled. I have pretty much been on every medication available in New Zealand over the last 20 years. Children and the Elderly are at higher risk of developing Epilepsy. Think of children under 10, and the elderly over 75.Spreading awareness and knowledge about Epilepsy is needed. The general public knows very little about Epilepsy.

A couple of pictures from 2003 when I had an EEG & Video Monitoring

    Fiction : Epilepsy Is Easily  Medicated With Medication

    I wish !! I’m sure there are many others that think the same. Many medications sometimes have to be tried. This doesn’t mean a solution is found. Surgery can be considered, but only if the reason for seizures is found.

    Fiction: People With Epilepsy Can’t Drive

    There are different rules in different countries or states. In New Zealand (where I am located ) the general thinking is 12 months seizure free.

    Fiction: Epilepsy Is Rare

    There is more than 60 million people living with Epilepsy around the world.That is on a level pegging with Breast Cancer. That doesn’t sound rare to me. Most of the people I speak to about my Epilepsy know someone with Epilepsy.

    Fiction : Epilepsy is caused by Evil Spirits, Demons and the likes

    It’s up to you whether you want to believe this. But, it is 2015. Haven’t most of us moved past this type of thinking ?

    Fiction: People With Epilepsy Cannot Marry And Have Children

    Marriage is about finding someone who loves you as you are, Epilepsy or not. My wife loves me just the way I am. She says she has never cared that I can’t drive.We have 2 beautiful children There may be a few steps you need to take when it comes to getting pregnant.You may have no pregnancy problems that relate to your Epilepsy.

    Fiction: Epilepsy cannot be Fatal

    Yes, you can die from Epilepsy, simple as that.There also the chance of a seizure putting you in a bad situation as well.

    Fiction: Only Children Get Epilepsy

    Yes, childhood is a time Epilepsy will start, but so is retirement It can affect male and female, young and old,rich and poor.

    Fiction: Epilepsy is contagious

    Epilepsy is not contagious. You can’t gain Epilepsy from saliva or bodily contact with someone with Epilepsy.

    So, there are a few crazy Fictitious things that some people may believe. Crazy ? I think so. If only people always resided to the fact that they could have Epilepsy tomorrow. 

      3 thoughts on “Epilepsy – Just As Common As Breast Cancer

      1. Am Julian,living in Malaysia,I want to give thanks to Dr Ebato for his good work I use to believe that epilepsy had no cure, i was suffering from the problem of epilepsy for over eight years which i got from brain injury by motor accident, and it do come twice a month,which was affecting my work before I come across a comment of some one who was cured from it,and I think it was a scam but I still hold on to see the work of Dr Ebato if he can cure me,I give him all the detail he needed and that was how i got the medication,which i too for two weeks.then i went to the hospital for a test and it was negative(epilepsy free).
        also he can still help you on your cure thanks Dr. Ebato for helping me,
        contact him +2349038504409 or Ebato1232@gmail.com

        Like

      2. Am Julian,living in Malaysia,I want to give thanks to Dr Ebato for his good work I use to believe that epilepsy had no cure, i was suffering from the problem of epilepsy for over eight years which i got from brain injury by motor accident, and it do come twice a month,which was affecting my work before I come across a comment of some one who was cured from it,and I think it was a scam but I still hold on to see the work of Dr Ebato if he can cure me,I give him all the detail he needed and that was how i got the medication,which i too for two weeks.then i went to the hospital for a test and it was negative(epilepsy free).
        also he can still help you on your cure thanks Dr. Ebato for helping me,
        contact him +2349038504409 or Ebato1232@gmail.com

        Like

        1. Hi,
          My name is Johnny.I am epileptic . I live in Texas. I have had it since I was 10 and am 52.
          Anyone who thinks it is easy . Well they don’t know. I have a story to tell.But I feel it doesn’t matter. Every since the beginning.nobody wants to hear it. Tired of being irrelevant.

          Like

      Leave a Reply

      