Does V Drink = Seizures ?

How many out there with Epilepsy think about what they eat or drink ?
Do you really think what you eat or drink effects your seizures ?
I think it probably does, but what extremes do you want to go to.
Yes, I think we all know that Alcohol is something to keep away from.
I do keep away from Alcohol. I have the odd drink here and there, but it would only equal one drink a month…..if even that.

As we know, fruit , veges and water are the keys. The world is becoming more and more obese every day. Our household has veges at least every 2nd night.

In July and August, I had 4 turns ( seizures ) each month. But there is something that could be contributing to this. I have a drink of V once a week. I have being seeing this as my little treat. V is a drink that is very high in Sugar.

V contains –

Sucrose, Guarana, Caffeine, B Vitamins, Taurine   drinking V

It’s interesting to read up on these ingredients. We all know that everyone should be careful with their Caffeine intake. I have never been a coffee or tea drinker. I do have a milo / hot chocolate with my breakfast, but that’s pretty much it. I’m sure you know someone that has many cups of tea or coffee every day.

I have read that energy drinks can interact with medication, so this could be the case with myself. I have tried to go by the policy of moderation. Moderation is the key to everything. This is why I only ever have one V drink a week. I don’t like paying for them either, but we have to treat ourselves occasionally. I feel a bit guilty sometimes for spending the $3-4 dollars (NZ) the V costs. I usually buy 500 mls.

I haven’t had a V in about 10 days now. So, I’ll try and completely stop drinking them. We’ll see if this has any effect on things.

Life is so much about routines and habits. I think you can look at so many things like this. There are so many things that people start , then they can’t stop. This can be from smoking and drinking or even children needing their teddy bear in bed at night. Crazy comparison ? My wife says it is. I say that because there are times when our son has come in to us in the middle of the night because he can’t find his teddy. I think if children weren’t given soft toys when they are first born, they would be fine without them.

teddy-562960__180
I have already discussed drinking tea and coffee. I never started in my early or late teens, so I don’t do it now. It’s all about starting things. If you never start doing certain things, you won’t find yourself having to stop.

Sorry if you find a few things I said sound rather bizarre.

All the best
🙂

Leave a Reply

