Embarrassment

Embarrassment

Embarrassment – a feeling of self-consciousness, shame, or awkwardness.

Are you someone who suffers from embarrassment ? ” Suffer” probably isn’t the most appropriate word to use. Maybe I should say feel Embarrassment.
This is something that I have gotten past. Epilepsy has played a part in this.

I no longer feel silly. I’m happy to laugh at myself. I’m sure you have been told that we need to laugh at ourselves. There is no need to feel embarrassment because of Epilepsy, so it’s a good idea to spread that into the rest of your life.

When it comes to Epilepsy I always think of the fact that Epilepsy can become part of ANYONE’S life. In some ways I’m actually proud of Epilepsy. I’d be happy if I never had another seizure, but I’m somewhat proud of where I am and where I want to be in the future. Yes, I have my bad days, but don’t we all ?

We can’t live our life’s trying to please everyone, so that’s why you have to forget what others think. I even think of not caring what others think. That may sound like a bad attitude to some, but I assure you it isn’t. Once again, I know where I am at. I know who I am. I’m 34 years old.

I often say I wish I understood how I would feel now when I was in my late teens. Those teenage years, many stress about the likes of homework. 20 years later you have your children to think about and the likes of paying a mortgage. What about retirement ? Once I reached 30 though, I realised that there was no need to be cool when I was at school. This is something I’m determined to get through to my children. It puzzles me that many people are friends through Facebook, but if you saw these people in the street, they wouldn’t even look at you. Why not ? Surely everyone has moved on from their school days.

Embarrassment

If people want to worry about how you look, what your wearing, let them.  Just don’t worry about it yourself.

“The rate at which a person can mature is directly proportional to the embarrassment he can tolerate.” – Douglas Engelbart

“Most things in life are moments of pleasure and a lifetime of embarrassment; photography is a moment of embarrassment and a lifetime of pleasure.” – Tony Benn

10 thoughts on “Embarrassment

  1. I suffer far less from embarrassment now. As a child I was pretty confident but shy and sensitive, as a teen lacked self esteem due to bullying in secondary school (high school). In my twenties I tried to mend the damage but I just could not bear anyone laughing at me. I would become defensive.

    My life was built on how people saw me and it was restricting. Now, I know who I am . I have ‘come into my own’. I am a Born again Christian which has helped tremendously.

    Can you believe I can actually laugh at myself now and it brings such freedom. It is never too late!

    Like

  2. Hi Bryce,

    This is my first visit to your blog and let me just say that my heart goes out to you. I can’t imagine having to deal with any major illness but to never know when seizure might happen I’m sure is never an enjoyable experience.

    I know that so many people are always worried about what others will think. I can sit here and say never be embarrassed because of this but I’m also not walking in your shoes.

    I think if you hold your head up high and are proud of the man you are now then I say to heck what others think. Let them walk in your shoes for a day and they just might have a whole new attitude.

    Thanks for sharing this with us and I wish you the best.

    ~Adrienne

    Like

    1. Hey Adrienne,
      Thank you very much. It sounds like we agree on quite a few things,
      such as not worrying about what others think. Yes, people can only
      really understand our feelings if they were to walk in our shoes.

      All the best,
      Bryce 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

