My Everest Walk !!

 

 

So, back to School and Kindy for everyone tomorrow. It’s been a very busy couple of weeks, probably the busiest holidays we have ever had. We saw alot of people. We spent a few nights away with my in-laws and parents. While we were away I did part of the Everest Walk !! Puzzled ?

A view out towards Young Nicks Head

Kaiti Hill

 

 

It was called the  Kaiti Hill Challenge. Kaiti Hill is 130m high, so 68 climbs or walks gets you all the way to the top of Mt Everest (8840m).  This distance had to be done between the 13th of September and the 31st of October. I don’t really think you can put it on the same scale, but it’s a great theme for a walk. It got alot of people involved, including my mother-in-law. She is always a keen walker.

It was pretty impressive the number of people walking up the hill. Walking up and down took about 30-40 mins, so we did this twice two days in a row.  When you get to the top of Kaiti Hill, you have a pretty good view. You can see all of Gisborne, plus Young Nicks Head.    This is the spot that 12 year old Nicolas Young first saw in 1769 when aboard Captain Cook’s Endeavour.

The Endeavour
Captain Cook’s Endeavour

A couple of days ago, my mother-in- law sent me a text saying she had completed her Everest Walk. Sounds like she got up to 6 walks one day. That’s a bit of walking, and walking the same track over and over again.

So, holidays are always good holidays, but by the end of things I’m always ready for the end of things. The good thing this time of year is that it’s only one  more school term and we have the end of year. Sorry to sound negative, but I don’t really enjoy thinking about Christmas. I sometimes think it would be nice to go to bed about the 23rd of December, then wake up about the 5th of January.

I’ve just had a funny week when it comes to my Epilepsy. A week ago, I went a bit down the road and joined a fitness group. I told the Instructor about my Epilepsy, then about half an hour in had a turn. I felt it coming on. Things looked different. The Instructor was very helpful. She made sure I was ok to walk home. She even sent a Facebook message that evening. I have had turns the last 3 days as well. They have all had a reason, and all been very short. The reasons have being watching my son spill his cereal. It stressed me out watching him try and carry his place-mat and bowl at the same time. I knew something was going to spill. This led to my turn. The next day my kids were riding their bikes outside and my son called us out because my daughter was having problems on her bike.  Then, yesterday …. After dinner, my son asked if there was any pudding. “No”, I said. He didn’t like the sound of that, so more conversation eventuated. Then a very quick turn arrived.                                                                                                    So, as you can see, just little things that brought a bit of stress. It’s Sunday again, so I’ll be going to the fitness group again. Here’s hoping things will be ok.

All the best,

Bryce 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “My Everest Walk !!

  1. We each have our own spins to go through but we can definitely say that we are blessed to experience the ‘stresses’ of our family.I rather think of them as joys because they help us to learn and experience =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

