Magnesium & Epilepsy

Have you ever heard of Magnesium as a treatment for Epilepsy ?

                                                                                     Doing a google search, I see that there are a few articles / bit of info about Magnesium and nuts-73914__180Epilepsy. One would have to have a chat with the doctor first before they jumped in boots and all. But if you were to eat a few foods high in Magnesium, I don’t really see the harm. There is a difference between what we are eating and the medication we are taking. Our eating is a way to keep it all natural.

 

chocolate-968457__180

High Magnesium foods include dark leafy greens, nuts, seeds, fish, beans, whole grains, avocados, yogurt, bananas, dried fruit and dark chocolate. YUMMY !!!
It looks like Magnesium plays a pretty big role in our health. It contributes to nearly every function and tissue in the body, supports the immune system, prevents inflammation associated with certain cancers, boosts heart health and could even cut your risk for a heart attack. Magnesium can reduce the risk of diabetes. Magnesium helps with depression as well. This is where it could help with Epilepsy.

I’m not saying ones with Epilepsy are necessarily depressed, but it could help to ease the mind. 80 % of my seizures come at times when I’m a bit stressed or something odd happens. Anxiety ? I don’t really think this is me. I have often talked about my Epilepsy leading to be a pretty positive person. But, there is the odd time I feel frustrated with Epilepsy. Don’t we all. Hyperactivity ? Maybe I sometimes find it hard to keep still, but I don’t think that’s really a biggie. Sleep ? I am not a good sleeper. I often fall asleep in front of the T.V at night before 7:30. This means it’s not as easy to go to sleep and stay asleep later. I wake up alot during the night. Alot of the time I don’t even want to go to bed. But staying up all night isn’t really a good idea is it ? This is the complete opposite of my wife. She goes to bed pretty early and sleeps like a brick. I have the job of waking her up in the morning. I think sleep is about good habits as well. Going to bed at 9pm, reading for half an hour, then switching off the light. Life is all about good habits.

man-909049__180

Tonight I sent my Doctor an email and asked about Magnesium. Is it a good idea, how would one take it and also if it would effect my medication…Levetiracetam ( Keppra ) & Lamotrigine.

Let’s see what she has to say.

One thought on “Magnesium & Epilepsy

Leave a Reply

